Baar baar dekho… mat!

No, this is not a review of the Friday release, Baar Baar Dekho.

In fact, the film is not bad as it has been showed to be.

Yes, it has its share of flaws. But which film is flawless anyway? Who asked you to expect rocket science or an About Time from a film that was meant to be seen as a pure time pass, light film from the archives of Bolly land?

No one.

Who asked you to read almost every movie review out there, get influenced and then go to the movies with your opinion already being clouded under someone else’s opinion?

No one.

Yet, you do the same thing. Every weekend. Baar baar. Lagataar.

Don’t. Trust me, it’ll take away the personal journey that a film gives a viewer. It’ll take away the ‘my’ from ‘my experience’.

No, I didn’t like Baar Baar Dekho. I’m not defending it either. But what I’m trying to say here is that the film was not a dud. It was a breezy film with good intention but bad execution. As simple as that. Have we not seen such films before in the past too?

Say, for example, a Student of the Year. Was it pathbreaking or earth-shattering? No. But hey, it was a one-time watch. A chalta hai film, to be honest. Why always expect logic, after all? Baar Baar Dekho too, falls in that category.

Coming to the point, when you go to watch a movie, you shouldn’t have pre-conceived notions about it. If at all you do, those should be just yours. Ofcourse, you can agree with a critic. Why not? But hey, atleast give the movie you are putting your time and money on a fair chance; maybe?

I remember seeing a review of Chak De! India the day it released in a newspaper, a little before my first day first show was about to start. Being a true-blue Shah Rukh Khan fan, I remember getting agitated seeing two and a half stars below the poster. I couldn’t make sense of it. I mean, I was so excited! How could this person bash the film this much and why did I have to read it right now?

My father then told me not to waste my time on a movie with such a bad review. But thankfully, I didn’t listen to him that one day. I went, and came back all happy and proud, with my chest swelling with pride as the after-thought of what I had just seen.

I didn’t let the review affect me. I went there with the same enthusiasm, hoping that I would get what the film promised to deliver – a story worth remembering. And so it did.

Movie reviews give you a wider perspective. They give you additional information, outside opinions that are not to be taken as influences, but just as simple reads. Just because they are supposedly coming from the experts doesn’t mean that you’re dumb or illogical if you think otherwise. It’s totally alright.

You know what? In today’s time and space, it’s very important to have an opinion of your own. I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to discuss films with people, to be able to answer their questions in my own way.

However, these opinions should be listened to as well. Don’t ignore them. At times or probably most of the time, the most turn out to be right too. Don’t get influenced or persuaded, but accept them as newer points that might differ from your opinion.

To share another experience with you of this kind, let’s go back to 2010. A film having Kajol (one of my all-time favourites) and Kareena Kapoor (who had tremendous potential as we all witnessed in Jab We Met) were coming in a movie together, We are Family, a remake of Stepmom – a beautiful film featuring the evergreen Julia Roberts and Susan Sarandon. I was excited. The story had so much potential on paper – a film lover’s delight!

On paper, indeed. Because as soon as it released on-screen, the film got panned by the critics. But me being me, I had to watch it to believe it. In the end, I did agree with a lot of the reviews. It was definitely a bummer of a film. But atleast I had the satisfaction that it was my own opinion, which had no hand in what everyone had to say. It was my own personal thing.

Films are very personal to me. So I read all the buzz surrounding them, all the reports related to them and all the reviews concerning them. I might end up agreeing with some while disagreeing with others, but hey, my ultimate opinion is my own.

And that’s what keeps me going.

As Ranbir puts it in the trailer of Ae Dil Hai Mushkil (obviously in some other context, but this fits the situation for the filmy me nonetheless), “Sirf mera haq hai ispe“. 🙂

Leave a Reply

